Railroad Forums 

• Signal Maintainer

• Discussion relating to the NS operations. Official web site can be found here: NSCORP.COM.
Discussion relating to the NS operations. Official web site can be found here: NSCORP.COM.
 #1597386  by Forddriverfx4

Good afternoon fellas,

Looking for insight as I am at a crossroads. I'm soon to be 30 and faced with 2 different avenues. Firstly, I am an electrician by trade, industrial specifically. I have one job offer from NS for an apprentice signal maintainer, the other is with a lumber mill down the road from the house. The lumber mill pays the bills, set shift(forced OT), mediocre benefits, etc. Same ol same I've been in for 10 years now. Manufacturing is great for a "right now" life style. Great pay and work life balance, but one day I will not be able to run conduit, pull wire, or be on my knees changing motors as much, and that is what is constantly in the back of my mind. I currently pay 617 a month for a sub par insurance plan, 401k with puny company match has dropped by the thousands in the last few months, and i honestly dont know what is keeping me in the factories. The benefits with NS have me highly leaning towards them recently. I'm looking long term here at doing a quick 30 and be done at 60 with the RR, or praying that SS is still around when Im 67 and hope I can go then. I've heard the horror stories, but assume its just like I tell people with my children, "you don't really understand what hot is until you put your hand on the eye of the stove." I'm looking for ANY feedback from recent hires (late 2021-2022) and what your experience has been like. I have reached out to a few people I have met that were in signal for anywhere from 3-9 years but 4 of the 5 I have talked to have quit within the last 6-12 months. Any and every bit of knowledge is much appreciated.
 #1597402  by S1f3432

I understand your situation as I was in a similar spot 30 years ago, only headed in the opposite direction. I went