• Need old boxcars Detroit area

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

by sdream

Hello --

I'm an illustrator working on a book cover for a novel set in the 1930s where much of the plot involves trains.

I need to find some old boxcars I can photograph for reference, but I'm having no luck so far. I'm just north of Detroit.

Any ideas on where I can find boxcars near me?

Thanks,

Rick
  by SlowFreight

It will help if this thread gets bounced to the midwest forum.

Moderator?
  by mtuandrew

SlowFreight wrote:It will help if this thread gets bounced to the midwest forum.

Moderator?
Done and done.

sdream: A good place to start would be the Steam Railroading Institute in Owosso - you can compare their 1920s Wabash RR boxcar with their 1940s Pere Marquette RR boxcars, and see if they have more pictures of other cars from that era. I believe the Henry Ford Museum has some elderly boxcars as well, but their website isn't intuitive enough for me to find specifics.
  by sdream

Thanks for the help, Andrew. The Steam Railroading Institute in Owosso looks like a good resource.

Anything closer to Detroit would be good. I didn't think it would be this difficult to find boxcars. Unfortunately, I'm dealing with an art director not sure what they want.

Thanks again.
-- Rick

http://dreampool.com
  by tree68