• Walking along, not on, the tracks?

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by lateralus

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to this board but I have a question for railroad employees and I figured I would go to the source. I just moved back home for a job (Northern NY) and I was telling my girlfriend about this swimming hole I used to go to as a kid. Unfortunately, the land surrounding it is all grown up with shrubs and all sorts of stuff I don't want to walk through. Luckily there is a single-track railway that passes less than 50 yards from it. My question is about the legality of using the path to get to the swimming hole. Obviously I wouldn't walk on the tracks, thats just plain idiotic IMO, but rather use the cleared area next to the tracks. I live out in the boonies, the nearest town is 10 miles away. Any reservations against strolling alongside the tracks? Any info would be helpful.

by Otto Vondrak

Railroads technically own a right of way that extends anywhere from 10 to 20 to 50 feet in either direction from the tracks, so even walking along the railroad could be construed as trespassing.

-otto-

by Lehighton_Man

Yes, but if your on the daring side, its somewhat alright to walk along if your quick, and get to your destination without being noticed. Also, depending on the Rail Line, that might affect your liability. If its like NS or CSX, then yor S.O.L.
If its a Shortline, then your fine, just time your walk to this swimming hole when the train isnt going by.
Cheers.
Sean

by GOLDEN-ARM