• new to Philly

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

by Tiggerhappy1977

Hi all, I am new to the Philly area, I think my local station is Torresdale (sorry if I spell things wrong), just moved over from the UK, I was wondering what types of locos work in the area, also looking for the best places to go for photos, I know they can be a bit funny about it on stations, so I am looking for busy routes for some freight work, I will just follow the mainline for pics of HHP-8s (I quite like them), are there any tickets like a rover type ticket that you can buy so I can travel a bit? I am keen on loud loco hauled (and HHP-8s) not multi-units, any help would be appreciated

by walt

I am not particularly familiar with the kinds of locomotives presently operating in the Philadelphia Area, though I grew up there. I relocated in 1967, however, Philadelphia, in the 20th Century, became very heavily electrified, beginning during the era of the private railroads ( Primarily the PRR and Reading Railroads, with some service from the B&O, though the B&O did not electrify in Phila.) and was where the electrification of what is now the Northeast Corridor actually began. As such, its commuter rail services were increasingly electric MU- operated beginning in 1915. There are others here who can give you an accurate and up to date listing of locomotives used today.

by RichM

Tiger, suggest you also post on the SEPTA forum if you haven't already done so, traffic here is a bit slow.

Rich

by MACTRAXX