• Why wasn't I hired at UP?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by carajul

With all the talk to UP being short handed I thought I'd get a job with them for sure. Me and my buddy put our applications in at the same time. I have 5 years experience with a RR out east and am NORAC qualified. He has no experience at all. We both applied for conductor positions via the UP web site.

3 months later his application is accepted and I get a dinky card in the mail "thank you but we are seeking other qualified persons who meet the positions available".

What kind of bs is this?

by aprr454

The same thing happened to me 5 months ago for a track laborer position. I'm a heavy equipment operator. I called their employment office and the person told me she didn't know why I wasn't called for an interview.

by MegaDave

yea I hear you...they def. are not in a hurry to hire. 3 months to get a call back is insane!

by Urban D Kaye

carajul -
I'd heard of a similar situation awhile back with NS. An experienced railroader was declined, while an applicant with no experience was accepted. The rationale (if you wanna call it that) was that NS felt that "re-training" the experienced man would be more work than training the inexperienced one. How's that for insane?

One thing I've learned in the job market...I can't control other folks' craziness. I've lost a few jobs to less experienced workers, and I've landed jobs for trivial reasons (like coincidentally having gone to the same highschool as the interviewer).

I wish you luck.

by KarlJ

[deleted]
Last edited by KarlJ on Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by CSX Conductor

I totally agree with Urban...........they want to mold the newbies just how they want them.