• LIRR - Asst. Conductor

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by Myla

Has anyone who attended the LIRR, June 29th, hiring fair been contacted for a panel interview? I heard a training class was going to begin in Sept. 05.

Best Regards to all

by LIRailfan79

how do you even get contacted in the first place? i've been sending my resume in twice a week now for a few months.
i think i am qualified, i have a bachelors degree in Business, i'm currently enrolled in the accounting certificate program at hofstra, i have a "real" job right now (have for over 3 years-since graduating college) and i have loads of customer service and cash handling experience.
i think at the very least i should make the 1st cut.

oh well, good luck to everyone who did get called. let me know if anyone gets into the training class, i would like to know what its like, how many people don't make it through etc...

by CSX Conductor

Maybe you're over-qualified. LOL :P Did you mention anything about having a thing for trains? That might have killed it right there.

As for Ms. Myla, usuallly many of the passenger roads tend to try to hire as many women as possible because of the equal opportunity thing. To this day many of them hire in the "reverse discrimination" mode which gives preference to "minorities" and women first.............which is b.s. because it actually discriminates against white males. :(

Anyways, from what I have heard, LIRR is one of the top paying commuter railroads. With that in mind, good luck to you both. :wink:

by jg greenwood

CSX Conductor wrote:Maybe you're over-qualified. LOL :P Did you mention anything about having a thing for trains? That might have killed it right there.