Railroad Forums 

• Post COVID - Passenger Rail

• General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.
General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.

Moderators: mtuandrew, gprimr1

#1572428  by Gilbert B Norman

Look what Amtrak has come up with!!!

https://www.amtrak.com/planning-booking ... virus_tab2

Since I have no upcoming trips with Amtrak (not saying "I'm done with them" as some around here might think), but I'm sure they ask about your VAX status.

But as we know, under HIPPA (Health Information Patient Protection Act), no one can ask you to show your documentation.

Of course, being a retired CPA, I lived in a world of "show me"; so when I went to my wine shop that recently lifted their mask requirements if VAXED, I had my CDC card out and ready to flash as I walked in. The manager simply said to me; "Mr. Norman, I can't look at that. Its honor system; that's all we can do".
 #1572430  by eolesen

Using the card as proof is a joke -- there are blank cards available for download on several state and county departments of health websites...

It doesn't take much to create a valid looking card that has someone else's dosage lot and administrator information, and with many states passing laws against vaccine passports and the disclosure of health information to private entities such as employers, it's questionable if cards can really authenticated based on what's entered.
 #1572434  by Ken W2KB

eolesen wrote: Sat May 29, 2021 10:06 am Using the card as proof is a joke -- there are blank cards available for download on several state and county departments of health websites...