• Any cops/ special agents...Police question..

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by dep6969

Many people say you cannot be a police officer if you are color deficient or color blind, however that is not true. I am color blind to a degree, in fact I cannot pass the Ishihara color blind test and I have been a police officer for nearly ten years. The "deficiency has NEVER hindered my ability to do my job. I understand that railroad police/ special agents, being employed by the railroad, are governed by FRA requirements. Could one still become a railroad cop being colorblind or is it completely out of the question? Is there any flexibility ie...field test etc We can see red green, and yellow-amber as it pertains to signals and having the experience of many years proves that it isn't an issue. Any input is appreciated. Thanks!
  by Gadfly

It may not be true according to whatever agency controls your hiring, but it may be an issue with regard to the Federal Railway Administration and the company to which you wish to hire. Generally speaking--and I am merely a railroad retiree and no expert, but the railroads will not hire those with color deficiencies as I understand it. And it DOES have a lot to do with signals and rules concerning ALL employees of railroads. I don't think the railroads will make exceptions. If you fail the test, you fail the test. Sorry. :(
  by dep6969