• Received offers for both BNSF & UP, which do I take?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by mllaw23

Hey everyone, I applied for conductor trainee in Minneapolis/St. Paul for conductor trainee. I've already received my release to work for UP, but now I've received a conditional offer for BNSF. I'd rather work for BNSF from reading the board they seem like the better employer. Should I go through the process for BNSF, or stick with UP since I already am ready to go on November 3?
  by matawanaberdeen

Well since no one is responding I will give it a try. I have no first hand knowledge, but the census around here is that BNSF is the best RR to work for as far as Class 1 freight railroads go. Amtrak is probably better, commuter RR's around the country are probably better, but around here BNSF is known as the best Class 1 freight RR. Good luck in choosing.
  by Jim1348

mllaw23 wrote:.....Should I go through the process for BNSF, or stick with UP since I already am ready to go on November 3?
Do you plan on moving for either job? I am not a big fan of terrible commutes. How far away from either location are you when you report to work? I assume Northtown Yard for BNSF and South Saint Paul for UP.
  by mllaw23

@ Jim, I'm moving from Chicago I found a place in Saint Paul its 6 mins from the UP yard so I definitely shouldn't have a problem being late to report even in bad weather. Is anyone familiar with the yard in Saint Paul? I assume they have plenty of work as they're still hiring on the website for the location.
  by COEN77