Railroad Forums 

• Germany's DB and ICE trains

• General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.
General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.

Moderators: mtuandrew, gprimr1

#1482653  by DutchRailnut

DB is the German national railroad carrier, the ICE is part of it, its their high speed trains.
 #1482656  by CarterB

I am an American, with a vacation home in Germany, where I am now in Hamburg. I have always found the German Ubahns, Sbahns, and the LD DB or IC/EC trains excellent, on time, and comfortable rides. The ICE is fastest and very nice also. However, I have never had a problem with any German rail and I have been coming here for 25 years. All beats the hell out of Amtrak and/or the regional commuter systems, hands down.
Last edited by CarterB on Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
 #1482849  by ALR997

Hi,

I'm from Germany and currently commuting by ICE.

As a short explanation: DB consists of many parts as e.g.:
DB Netz - Provider of infrastructure
DB StuS - Provider of Stations
DB Regio - Provider of "Nahverkehr" (near-distance-transport, which is just ordered by the authorities of the 16 states)
DB Fernverkehr - Provider of long-distance-trains (ICE, IC, etc)

In nearly everything which happens in rail transport in Germany DB is involved this way. When your train is delayed, maybe it's an infrastructural damage or a failure on the train or on another train, DB is a part of the problem anyway.

So it is no surprise that DB has no good reputation although things are going more or less well. Punctualitiy in Nahverkehr is pretty good, in long-distance-traffic a little worse but more than 70% of all ICE/IC/... trains are just 5 minutes or less delayed.