Railroad Forums 

• Federal, Night Owl, Twilight Shoreliner (Trains 65, 66, 67)

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#61025  by fairlane57

So....Does The Federal Have Sleepers Yet?

Was this question asked recently on this Forum?

I'm actually curious if the sleepers have been returned yet. This is the closest thing to the Night Owl/Montrealer I can recall.

#61045  by Gilbert B Norman

Both the name and the Sleeper are adios; no scheduled date of return.

#61212  by AmtrakFan

Would be nice but I don't think anytime soon.

AmtrakFan

#61302  by DLSIZE

And to think that I have been mouring the loss of the Exective Sleeper for 10 years.....guess that won't be coming back any time soon :-D
 #339509  by Patrick A.

Hello All,
As I was booking another Acela trip to Washington I noticed somehting rather odd. Looking at the first departure from New Haven is train 67, which is the all night train along the corridor (Clocker), leaves at 12:26AM and arrives at Washington at 7AM giving a travel time of 6hrs and 34 min, and hour longer than the other regional trains which pass through New Haven. My questiion is why does this happen? Is there exterme padding for freight ops, or is it because Amtrak wants to elongate the ride to have more people buy sleepers?

Thanks,
Patrick
 #339519  by TomNelligan

Patrick A. wrote:Is there exterme padding for freight ops, or is it because Amtrak wants to elongate the ride to have more people buy sleepers?