Railroad Forums 

• 25 year old validation engineer... do I have a shot?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1374261  by skribwig

I work in the pharmaceutical industry as a validation engineer. That means, more or less, verifying that equipment and machinery are meeting their required specifications for quality and safety.

I've always wanted to work in the railroad industry, but ended up getting a degree in biology. The opportunity to work in pharmaceuticals presented itself and at the time, I couldn't turn it down.

Fast forward a few years and I've had the chance to work with heavy machinery, HVAC systems, and electronics. I have a strong resume working crazy shifts, and traveling hundreds of miles for work. Now I'm thinking about finally making the leap and applying for the NJ Transit Locomotive Engineer Training Program, or at the very least, applying for an Assistant Conductor or Railcar Inspector position and working my way up.

From the information that I've given you, do you think I might have a shot at getting an interview? If anyone is familiar with the NJ Transit training program, what's it like? Any tips or tricks that could help improve my resume?
 #1374332  by Acela150

You have the same shot as anyone else really, if you want my opinion..