Railroad Forums 

• Australian tourist to visit NJ and PA

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey

Moderator: David

#248011  by LandDownUnder

G'day to all

As a first post on these forums, I should introduce myself. My name is Maikha, and I'm a railfan posting all the way overseas from sunny Sydney, in Australia. In terms of my interest, I'm an avid railroad photographer, HO scale modeller, and also spend a fair bit of time volunteering for a heritage steam railroad as a Conductor (The Great Zig Zag Railway - http://www.zigzagrailway.com.au), and a Mainline Excursion operator as a passenger attendant (3801 Limited - http://www.3801limited.com.au)

I will be heading over to the United States during the course of Mid-July until Mid-August 2006, although mainly for Family reasons, I expect that spending a month over there will have me indulging in some local railfanning. I'll be leaving roughly on the 14th July 2006 and returning on the 17th of August 2006. Although somedays are planned in Los Angeles mainly for tourist stuff, the bulk of my stay will be in South-West New Jersey and in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, staying with relatives in both states. In New Jersey, I will be staying in a suburb called Lindenwold, located on the Atlantic City Line and is a convenient 30minutes from Downtown Philadelphia, whereas in Philadelphia, I will be staying in an outlying suburb I'm unsure of yet.

At present, I am planning what locations and activities I could get up to in a railroad context, and would like to seek the assistance of all here in helping me find the following.

-Any website, railfan or official, which showcases the Railroads in NJ and PA. Mainly after any of you locals who may have websites/photographic galleries that may feature photographs of the railroads.
-What would be of immediate railroad interest in Philadelphia?