Why Brightline use extended ramps at station?

This is a forum for all operations, both current and planned, of Virgin Rail USA formerly known as Brightline, and Virgin Worldwide Rail operations, past and present. Official Sites:
Current Brightline: https://gobrightline.com/
Virgin USA: https://www.virgin.com/richard-branson/ ... trains-usa
Virgin UK: https://www.virgintrains.co.uk/

Moderator: CRail

Why Brightline use extended ramps at station?

Postby frequentflyer » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:45 pm

On the NEC, the gap between Amfleet cars and the station is nil. Yet Brightline's high platform station have a signifcant gap with the Brightline cars, and the cars have platform that extend, why? Surely the specs were known before construction of trains and station.
frequentflyer
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:28 am

Re: Why Brightline use extended ramps at station?

Postby andrewjw » Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:58 pm

Loading gauge for many freight cars is larger than loading gauge for passenger cars. FEC operates said large freight cars. Such freight cars are forbidden on the NEC, so they can build platforms right up to the train.

Gauntlet tracks are another common solution to this problem. See: Raritan Line (NJT), SMART (Bay Area).

This question would be better directed to the FEC forum.
andrewjw
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:48 am

Re: Why Brightline use extended ramps at station?

Postby chuchubob » Mon Jan 07, 2019 12:14 pm

andrewjw wrote:Gauntlet tracks are another common solution to this problem. See: Raritan Line (NJT), SMART (Bay Area).

Gantlet (both spellings are accepted) tracks on Raritan Valley Line and SMART; also on the South Shore.
chuchubob
 
Posts: 6037
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:55 pm
Location: South Jersey


Return to Virgin Trains Worldwide (includes Brightline)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests