Acela Speeds

Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, gprimr1, Amtrak67 of America, Tadman

Post Reply
Backshophoss
Posts: 6026
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by Backshophoss » Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:26 am

Might have been access problems with the "neighbors",to install poles with out taking a track out of service. :(
The Land of Enchantment is not Flyover country!

ApproachMedium
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by ApproachMedium » Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:38 pm

No access problems, amtrak owns the right of way and they ran up and down the out of service track. Its really impossible to install the poles without taking the track out and for the amount of them that had to go up, holes drilled, lifted etc easier to do it during long term outage. Failure to properly install though is more like it, and some other things i cannot comment here.

Tier 1 trains is UP TO 125mph. Tier 2 is 125-150mph. Tier 3 will be up to 220mph.
No good deed goes unpunished.

Matt Johnson
Posts: 4153
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: Hazlet, NJ

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by Matt Johnson » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:38 pm

Well, what they did get done is roughly equivalent to the Attleboro - Mansfield stretch in Massachusetts, so hopefully still enough to let Avelia stretch its legs and show off its 160 mph speed for a couple of minutes.

One other factor will be the speed on the upgraded variable tension segments on either end. If it's, say, 140 mph, that helps a little bit. The new variable tension hangars can be seen here at Hamilton:

http://www.railpictures.net/photo/657488/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

timz
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:04 pm
Location: Oakland CA

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by timz » Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:03 pm

http://www.railpictures.net/photo/657488/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Those rust-color upside-down-T things next to the catenary wire -- what are they for? Are they hanging from the crosswire?

The tracks aren't being moved farther apart, now or in the future?

ApproachMedium
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by ApproachMedium » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:14 am

The track moving farther apart thing is a myth. It was only done at adams and delco to accomodate the new switches. The rusty brackets were done at first to hold the old wire while new wire was installed but i guess at some point they found out they were really useless and stopped using them.
No good deed goes unpunished.

Matt Johnson
Posts: 4153
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: Hazlet, NJ

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by Matt Johnson » Sat May 18, 2019 7:32 pm

The last of the four tracks is finally getting constant tension wire installed. Will the existing Acelas see a bump up to 150 mph here?

https://www.railpictures.net/photo/697391/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

bostontrainguy
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:14 am

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by bostontrainguy » Sun May 19, 2019 9:44 am

So much money and so much time for so little. Even if they increase the speeds, how much schedule time is going to be reduced? (Would money have been better spent reducing the "S" curve at Elizabeth?)

They also talked about raising the speeds to 160 in the already constant tension sections in Massachusetts. Again probably not much of a schedule savings but at least a good test bed for higher speed operations.

ApproachMedium
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by ApproachMedium » Sun May 19, 2019 3:47 pm

The s curve speed was brought up to 80/85 from 55. They cant change the curve now otherwise because of area construction.
No good deed goes unpunished.

User avatar
amtrakhogger
Posts: 1954
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:16 am
Location: "F" on the Camden and Amboy

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by amtrakhogger » Sun May 19, 2019 6:00 pm

02. They could up the speed here on all trains at the Elizabeth curves if they just bumped up the signaling to a Cab Speed from Approach Medium.
His train? It's MY train! I know what I'm doing, do you?

ApproachMedium
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by ApproachMedium » Mon May 20, 2019 11:28 am

That wont happen because if you have acses failure, you are dropped to 55 on all tracks with all trains. What they need to do is tie the signal drop in with the TSR radio if theres no comms then it drops to approach medium if there is comms then it can stay at block indication.
No good deed goes unpunished.

jonnhrr
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Sabattus ME USA

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by jonnhrr » Mon May 20, 2019 2:15 pm

bostontrainguy wrote:
Matt Johnson wrote:The last of the four tracks is finally getting constant tension wire installed. Will the existing Acelas see a bump up to 150 mph here?

https://www.railpictures.net/photo/697391/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
So much money and so much time for so little. Even if they increase the speeds, how much schedule time is going to be reduced? (Would money have been better spent reducing the "S" curve at Elizabeth?)

They also talked about raising the speeds to 160 in the already constant tension sections in Massachusetts. Again probably not much of a schedule savings but at least a good test bed for higher speed operations.
Doesn't the CT catenary also reduce the likelihood of wire breakage in very cold weather and sagging in hot weather i.e. increased reliability?
Avatar Photo - P&W local from Gardner to Worcester at Morgan Rd., Hubbardston

David Benton
Posts: 8451
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 11:29 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by David Benton » Mon May 20, 2019 4:17 pm

That's the main reason for installing it.
Moderator worldwide railfan , Rail travel & trip reports
The only train trips I regret are the ones I didn't take.

R36 Combine Coach
Posts: 5397
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:51 pm

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by R36 Combine Coach » Mon May 20, 2019 5:07 pm

ExCon90 wrote:Regarding the posts above about the nonstop Metroliner, Baltimore enacted an ordinance around the time the Union and B&P Tunnels were built requiring all trains operating through Baltimore to make a station stop in that city, and the City Council blew the dust off the ordinance and started to make difficulties over that nonstop Metroliner, but the situation resolved itself when Amtrak discontinued the nonstop to fill seats. I suppose the issue could be raised again if nonstop Acelas were introduced.
There was a "super express" Acela in introduced in January 2008, but dropped on April 4 (PHL stop only).
Since my friend continues to chain smoke nonstop, she is probably an Alco.

ApproachMedium
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by ApproachMedium » Mon May 20, 2019 8:56 pm

constant tension catenary does hold up much better in weather changes, but the stretch they did the work on almost never has downed wire because its straight and pretty simple. A place to have CT wire is down in maryland where its close to all of those rivers and high winds. Theres always problems with wire down there. Other than the signal upgrades i think a lot of this project was a waste and the concepts and money could have been better spent elsewhere
No good deed goes unpunished.

User avatar
BandA
Posts: 2664
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Acela Speeds

Post by BandA » Mon May 20, 2019 11:12 pm

Matt Johnson wrote:Well, what they did get done is roughly equivalent to the Attleboro - Mansfield stretch in Massachusetts, so hopefully still enough to let Avelia stretch its legs and show off its 160 mph speed for a couple of minutes.

One other factor will be the speed on the upgraded variable tension segments on either end. If it's, say, 140 mph, that helps a little bit. The new variable tension hangars can be seen here at Hamilton:

http://www.railpictures.net/photo/657488/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
That's a lot of wiring!!

Post Reply

Return to “Amtrak”