Moving a Trackmobile

General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

Moving a Trackmobile

Postby ricebrianrice » Thu May 18, 2017 10:12 am

Guys,
Can a trackmobile be moved by rail, as part of a freight?

I need to move mine from Upstate New York to North Carolina.
Nothing is impossible for the person that does not have to do it!
ricebrianrice
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY

Re: Moving a Trackmobile

Postby John_Perkowski » Mon May 22, 2017 8:48 am

You can certainly have it loaded on a flatcar.
~John Perkowski: Moderator: General Discussion: Locomotives, Rolling Stock, and Equipment
Assistant Administrator: Railroad.net/forums
Please don't feed the spammers! If you see spam, please notify a Moderator
User avatar
John_Perkowski
 
Posts: 4463
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:12 pm
Location: Off the Q main near Parkville MO

Re: Moving a Trackmobile

Postby DutchRailnut » Mon May 22, 2017 9:19 am

putting it on a lowboy truck probably would not only be faster but cheaper too.
If Conductors are in charge, why are they promoted to be Engineer???

Retired Triebfahrzeugführer
User avatar
DutchRailnut
 
Posts: 21173
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:02 pm
Location: released from Stalag 13

Re: Moving a Trackmobile

Postby ricebrianrice » Mon May 22, 2017 10:09 am

I got my answer from the railroad, it does not have a coupler that meets the correct standards.
So we will have to put it on a truck.
Nothing is impossible for the person that does not have to do it!
ricebrianrice
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY


Return to General Discussion: Locomotives, Rolling Stock, and Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests