Charlie Card Question

Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: CRail, sery2831

Charlie Card Question

Postby WonderlandMan » Wed Nov 10, 2004 9:46 pm

I'm sure most of you have heard about the new fare collection system being installed into the MBTA, the Charlie Card/Ticket. Now, I have one question if any of you have the information or an idea. I am a student, i have a Pupil Badge enabling me to pay the Student Half-Fare on the bus, $0.45. Now, If the Charlie Cards are put into place, will there be a way for me to only deduct the half-fare on the charlie card, or will the system just take off the full $0.90. I tried to think how this would work but it stumpd me
WonderlandMan

Postby CS » Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:08 pm

My guess is that you would pay half of the fare.
Also, many who get the pupil half off pass get the student pass that enables you to you every MBTA service (except comm. rail zones 3 - 9 and boat) for free until 8pm. Perhaps they may get rid of the half off pass althogether (and hopefully they will move the time up from 8pm to 10pm because there are plenty of after school activities continuing up to and pass 8pm).
C. Sarjeant
"CS"
CS

Postby trigonalmayhem » Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:38 pm

Perhaps they'll have a different card for students that has some bit of encoded information that only deducts half the fare during certain hours?

You can do a lot of fancy things with a computerized system, so assuming they don't just overlook some things, there should be an easy solution (the whole idea of modernizing the fare collection system is to make things easier, really).
trigonalmayhem

Postby SbooX » Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:49 pm