Subway Operation

Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: CRail, sery2831

Subway Operation

Postby astrosa » Sun Aug 22, 2004 12:37 am

Some of you may remember me asking about this on the old board - I'm working on a virtual 01400 for Microsoft Train Simulator, and while I have most of the major work done, I still have to work out some details. Right now I'm doing the graphics for the cab, which mainly consists of the Cinestion controller plus a few guages and switches, and at the same time I'm adjusting the performance and physics of the car.

Trouble is, I'm not an MBTA operator so I have no firsthand experience...the throttle was fairly easy to define but I'm having a bit of trouble with the brakes. I know they were blended dynamic/air depending on speed, but I have to make them just air brakes. As for the controller braking positions, I believe there were only three: minimum service brake, full service brake, and emergency. I'll assume that for the most part, the T's various types of subway cars share the same basic control setup.

My main question is, how are the brakes used in operation? From my casual observation as a rider, it seems like the train is beginning to decelerate as it enters the station but is still doing around 20-25MPH. Then, about halfway along the platform, there's an increase in deceleration (enough to make you lean forward) and the train comes to a stop just shy of the end. So is the operator applying minimum service brake as he approaches the station, then switching to full service to make the final stop - or is he coasting into the station and using min service to make a gradual stop?