High level platforms system wide?

Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: CRail, sery2831

High level platforms system wide?

Postby MBTA1016 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:34 am

Why does the T only have one line with all high level platforms? With the high level platforms trains are easier to board and is Ada compliant for the Feds. If we get high level platforms and there is a equipment crunch with the coaches we could use Amtrak amfleets (assuming amtrak will lend us some) till we get the coaches back in service, and wouldn't need to get coaches with traps that conductors have to open at low level stops.
Josh.W
Formally mbta fan
WE ARE BOSTON, WE ARE BOSTON STRONG


Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/116905626@N06/
Blog: http://jpwilkinson2448.blogspot.com/?m=1
User avatar
MBTA1016
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:16 pm
Location: Walpole MA

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby MBTA3247 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:52 am

1. Cost
2. Several lines have freight traffic and so need wider clearances
3. Amfleet cars do have traps, and I don't think Amtrak has any to spare for long periods.
"The destination of this train is [BEEP BEEP]" -announcement on an Ashmont train.
User avatar
MBTA3247
 
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: Milton

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby sery2831 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:59 am

Well first, there are three lines that have 100% high level service.

Amfleets are not designed for commuter service and even if Amtrak could spare some, they would not be a good fit on the T.
Moderator: MBTA Rail Operations
User avatar
sery2831
 
Posts: 5127
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Manchester, NH

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby diburning » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:44 am

That and most Amfleets are not configured for push pull service (meaning that they do not have the receptacles to pass through controls from the cab car to the locomotive). Of the Amfleets that do have this capability, Amtrak has very few of them, so they will need every one they have.
User avatar
diburning
 
Posts: 2964
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:37 pm
Location: Practicing safe CSX by using Three-Step Protection

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby MBTA1016 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:05 am

Ok, I forgot about freight clearances. The old colony lines have freight service on them and the line is all high level platforms or is CSX limited to a specific plate size for the cars? Sery what other two lines have 100% high level platforms? I know the providence and Franklin lines don't.
Josh.W
Formally mbta fan
WE ARE BOSTON, WE ARE BOSTON STRONG


Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/116905626@N06/
Blog: http://jpwilkinson2448.blogspot.com/?m=1
User avatar
MBTA1016
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:16 pm
Location: Walpole MA

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby sery2831 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:38 am

The Old Colony is 3 lines, not one.

Freight traffic on these lines are limited to normal freight cars and no special moves.
Moderator: MBTA Rail Operations
User avatar
sery2831
 
Posts: 5127
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Manchester, NH

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby BostonUrbEx » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:55 pm

Have gauntlet tracks every been used in the MBTA's history? I'm 99% positive there are none now, but were there ever?

It would be a good way to squeak through a pinch.
User avatar
BostonUrbEx
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Winn to MPT 8, Boston to MPN 38, and Hat to Bank

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby MBTA3247 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:18 pm

BostonUrbEx wrote:Have gauntlet tracks every been used in the MBTA's history? I'm 99% positive there are none now, but were there ever?

It would be a good way to squeak through a pinch.

Not to my knowledge. The ties at TF Green are designed for a gantlet track, though, as a provision for P&W freights once that station is fully built out in the future.
"The destination of this train is [BEEP BEEP]" -announcement on an Ashmont train.
User avatar
MBTA3247
 
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: Milton

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby TrainManTy » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:21 pm

Mbta fan wrote:is CSX limited to a specific plate size for the cars?


The tricky bit here isn't normal freight trains, it's special moves that require greater horizontal clearance than the platforms will allow. The mini-high platforms at most stations can have about eight inches of the edge removed, but it's too labor-intensive to do this to full-length platforms.
Tyler

All posts are my personal opinion. I do not speak for any organizations on this board.
User avatar
TrainManTy
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Worcester, MA

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby obienick » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:36 pm

TrainManTy wrote:
Mbta fan wrote:is CSX limited to a specific plate size for the cars?


The tricky bit here isn't normal freight trains, it's special moves that require greater horizontal clearance than the platforms will allow. The mini-high platforms at most stations can have about eight inches of the edge removed, but it's too labor-intensive to do this to full-length platforms.


Extra dimension moves pretty much are captive to rail. Why not simply extend that labor price to the cost of shipment?
obienick
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:30 pm
Location: NY

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby Dick H » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:41 pm

Amtrak must have a substantial number of coaches with push-pull wiring.
Both the Downeaster and Hiawatha services use these. Also, the Springfield
line and the Harrisburg line. The Vermonter service is also using a cab car.
Dick H
 
Posts: 3030
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Dover, NH

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby Komarovsky » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:31 pm

I thought most of the mini-highs had edges that could flip up if needed for clearance. Why would having full length platforms with these types of edges be too labor intensive, I can't imagine it would take more than an hour to flip all of them up with adequate notice.
Komarovsky
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:11 pm

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby AEM7AC920 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:37 pm

Times that by multiple stops on a line then add in train schedules......
AMTRAK HAWK DETECTOR TRACK 1 NOOO DEFECTS OUT!
AEM7AC920
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: Unkown.....

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby afiggatt » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:57 pm

Dick H wrote:Amtrak must have a substantial number of coaches with push-pull wiring.
Both the Downeaster and Hiawatha services use these. Also, the Springfield
line and the Harrisburg line. The Vermonter service is also using a cab car.

Almost all of Amtrak's Amfleet 1s have been upgraded with push-pull wiring. See the roster list at http://www.on-track-on-line.com/amtk-ro ... #Amfleet-I
afiggatt
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:41 am
Location: Sterling, VA

Re: High level platforms system wide?

Postby sery2831 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:39 am

Komarovsky wrote:I thought most of the mini-highs had edges that could flip up if needed for clearance. Why would having full length platforms with these types of edges be too labor intensive, I can't imagine it would take more than an hour to flip all of them up with adequate notice.


It is not the labor of raising them. It is that the foam edges require regular maintenance. And in places where normal freight traffic passes occasionally these edges are struck and the mini-high levels are taken out of service until they are repaired. If these existed on full length platforms, one train could possible take several stations out of service and would take a long time to repair.
Moderator: MBTA Rail Operations
User avatar
sery2831
 
Posts: 5127
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Manchester, NH

Next

Return to Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests