VIA Acquires Brockville-Smiths Falls Trackage

Discussion of Canadian Passenger Rail Services such as AMT (Montreal), Go Transit (Toronto), VIA Rail, and other Canadian Railways and Transit

Moderator: Ken V

VIA Acquires Brockville-Smiths Falls Trackage

Postby NH2060 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:20 am

Announcement was made on November 23rd:
http://www.railwaygazette.com/news/infr ... ision.html
NH2060
 
Posts: 1442
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: VIA Acquires Brockville-Smiths Falls Trackage

Postby NeoArashi » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:57 am

Not 100% sure... But didn't they already had a train running between these two places? If not, then a new route is always welcome. If they already ran trains there, well good for them and the passenger. This will help increase reliability and, on the long term, ridership.
My new big project: Sharing the wonders of Canada with the whole world!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5xxPe ... TH27YLt5AA

Want to become part of it? You can by helping me!
http://www.patreon.com/user?u=211450&ty=c
User avatar
NeoArashi
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:55 am

Re: VIA Acquires Brockville-Smiths Falls Trackage

Postby NS VIA FAN » Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:08 am

NeoArashi wrote:Not 100% sure... But didn't they already had a train running between these two places? If not, then a new route is always welcome. If they already ran trains there, well good for them and the passenger. This will help increase reliability and, on the long term, ridership.


Same route....they just bought the track they have always used between Brockville and Smiths Falls. VIA has already upgraded this track with new sidings and CTC for higher speeds over the past several years.
User avatar
NS VIA FAN
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:51 am


Return to Canadian Passenger Operations: AMT, Go Transit, VIA, etc.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests