Acela Speeds

Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, gprimr1, Amtrak67 of America, Tadman

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby east point » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:10 am

[quote="ApproachMedium" All because catenary poles were not going up fast enough.[/quote]


Was it installation problems due to unknown underground conduit / cables. Or was it slow delivery of poles ? Or soething else ?
east point
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:50 pm

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby Backshophoss » Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:26 am

Might have been access problems with the "neighbors",to install poles with out taking a track out of service. :(
Backshophoss
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby ApproachMedium » Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:38 pm

No access problems, amtrak owns the right of way and they ran up and down the out of service track. Its really impossible to install the poles without taking the track out and for the amount of them that had to go up, holes drilled, lifted etc easier to do it during long term outage. Failure to properly install though is more like it, and some other things i cannot comment here.

Tier 1 trains is UP TO 125mph. Tier 2 is 125-150mph. Tier 3 will be up to 220mph.
No good deed goes unpunished.
User avatar
ApproachMedium
 
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby Matt Johnson » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:38 pm

Well, what they did get done is roughly equivalent to the Attleboro - Mansfield stretch in Massachusetts, so hopefully still enough to let Avelia stretch its legs and show off its 160 mph speed for a couple of minutes.

One other factor will be the speed on the upgraded variable tension segments on either end. If it's, say, 140 mph, that helps a little bit. The new variable tension hangars can be seen here at Hamilton:

http://www.railpictures.net/photo/657488/
User avatar
Matt Johnson
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: Hazlet, NJ

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby timz » Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:03 pm

http://www.railpictures.net/photo/657488/

Those rust-color upside-down-T things next to the catenary wire -- what are they for? Are they hanging from the crosswire?

The tracks aren't being moved farther apart, now or in the future?
timz
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:04 pm
Location: Oakland CA

Re: Acela Speeds

Postby ApproachMedium » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:14 am

The track moving farther apart thing is a myth. It was only done at adams and delco to accomodate the new switches. The rusty brackets were done at first to hold the old wire while new wire was installed but i guess at some point they found out they were really useless and stopped using them.
No good deed goes unpunished.
User avatar
ApproachMedium
 
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: From here to There

Previous

Return to Amtrak

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Renegade334 and 13 guests