Railroad Micor Channel Elements

Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.

Moderator: Aa3rt

Railroad Micor Channel Elements

Postby clearblock » Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:35 pm

Is there anybody out there that maintains railroad radios that has a stock of Motorola Micor K1005 elements for AAR frequencies available?

I am working on a project for a railroad museum and wondered if anybody has the frequencies I need in their pull-outs or old stock at a reasonable price before I spend the big bucks to send elements out to be recrystalled.

I need the following K1005 RX elements:

161.400 (2 required)
160.800 (1 each)
160.980
160.770
clearblock
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby kitn1mcc » Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:15 pm

you can get them repacked

also there is a way to use the old micor control head to control a maxtrac
Ui Company Meter Services
kitn1mcc
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:09 pm
Location: Old Lyme CT

Postby clearblock » Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:48 pm

kitn1mcc wrote:you can get them repacked

also there is a way to use the old micor control head to control a maxtrac


I know I can get them "repacked" but like I said in my post "before I spend the big bucks to send elements out to be recrystalled" I thought someone probably has kept their old elements as they phased out their MICORS and might have some or all of the frequencies I need and would be glad to get a few dollars for them.

I got a quote of $50 each and 3 weeks delivery from ICM to rebuild elements.

I used to be able to get elements for $25 in a few days from CEH but they are out of business.

The other alternative is I can order crystals and rebuild the elements myself but that involves the hassel of gettting the element apart and back together without wrecking it and the possibility of getting a crystal that won't zero on frequency in my element. I have done this in the past with mixed success when there was no alternative.

My project involves existing MICOR radios so substituting new radios is not an option.
clearblock
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby Will » Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:45 am

I have access to a bunch of MICOR Channel elements on RR freqs. If you are still in need, I can get a list together.

There are some GE Master II elements also.
Will
 

Postby clearblock » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:38 pm

Yes I am still looking. I sent you a PM.
Thanks.
clearblock
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby Will » Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:37 am

clearblock,

I answered the PM with the info to contact.

Back to fixing Spectras......
Will
 

Re: Railroad Micor Channel Elements

Postby wa8lgm » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:48 pm

NOt only do ZI have a bunch of old micor elements, but I have a * of old Micors sitting in one of our museum's storerooms. If you are interested, you can call me. Ask for John @ 440-734-3961. I would be glad as all get out to let you have as many of them as you want, if you're willing to pay the shipping or come here to get them. --- John
wa8lgm
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Railroad Micor Channel Elements

Postby kitn1mcc » Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:22 pm

do you have any of the control stands i am gonna try and interface it to a cdm750
Ui Company Meter Services
kitn1mcc
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:09 pm
Location: Old Lyme CT


Return to Radio and Communications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest