NRE shops

All about locomotive rebuilders, small locomotive works, and experimental works

Moderator: Komachi

NRE shops

Postby krobar » Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:49 am

How many shops do the folks at NRE operate? Where are they located? :)
krobar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Nazareth, PA

Postby Ol' Loco Guy » Sat Jun 05, 2004 6:53 pm

Silvis, IL ? (old RI)
Dixmoor, IL
Mt. Vernon, IL (old PNC)
Paducah, KY (old VMV, IC)
Ol' Loco Guy
 

Postby Joe » Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:07 am

I am going to the NRE Dixmoor shops tomorrow! My cousin works there and he got me in! I can't wait! :D
Joe
Joe
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:10 pm

Postby ENR3870 » Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:59 am

Don't forget Capreol, Ontario. They maintain the Budd Cars used on the Sudbury-White River RDC train.
Tyler W.
ENR3870
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 4:49 am
Location: At the switch

Postby Engineer Spike » Tue Aug 03, 2004 6:26 pm

I used to go by the Silvis shop on BN. They had several CN MLW Draper Taper units. I also saw some ex Conrail B23-7s. I thought this was neat because that is what CR used in New England, where I am from.
Engineer Spike
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 3:24 pm

Postby emd_SD_60 » Sat Dec 04, 2004 6:08 pm

Joe wrote:I am going to the NRE Dixmoor shops tomorrow! My cousin works there and he got me in! I can't wait! :D


So how did the trip go?
Check out my train pix!
emd_SD_60
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

Postby nickleinonen » Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:06 am

ENR3870 wrote:Don't forget Capreol, Ontario. They maintain the Budd Cars used on the Sudbury-White River RDC train.


i know a few guys that work at that shop... they use to work at my shop, but quit and went there..
nickleinonen
 

Postby chicagorails » Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:08 am

silvis has many old engines you can see and photograph from highway 5 .
mt. vernon has fewer and you can get closer but chain link fence.
chicagorails
 


Return to Rebuilders & Smaller Locomotive Works

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest